Library Tour

Library Tour : Easwari Lending Library

A library is a good place to go when you feel unhappy, for there, in a book, you may find encouragement and comfort.

A library is a good place to go when you feel bewildered or undecided, for there, in a book, you may have your question answered. Books are good company, in sad times and happy times, for books are people – people who have managed to stay alive by hiding between the covers of a book.” ― E.B. White

I think that quote by E.B. White pretty much sums up how most readers feel about Libraries. I’m sure you’ll agree when I say libraries are an Introvert’s heaven on earth. Spacious rooms with wall to wall books untouched by the plague of small talk where complete silence is the order of the day? You see what I mean? It’s also a great place to find / meet people whom we might not approach in the outside world. That’s also why libraries are relevant even in this digital age of online book purchases and e-books.

So, I thought it’d be a good idea to document my visits to the libraries in and around Chennai in this section, rather creatively named as ‘Library Tour’

The first one is the Easwari Lending Library which is one of the oldest lending libraries in the city. It was started way back in 1955 as a small shop, later branched out to several major influential parts of the city. I’ve heard from some of my older acquaintances about how they grew up reading books from this library, which is really cool because as far as I saw, they have an awesome collection of books! The categories are delightfully varied, like they have Engineering books, books for competitive exams, even some on Astrology! I’m not going to bore you with the details of their branches and list of genres etc, they have their website here for that very purpose. 😀

I visited the Anna Nagar branch which was my first time there. Let me tell you – I instantly loved it. The space is quite small but they’ve made a good use of it to stack as many books as possible and segregated them author-wise.

IMG_20170603_182055I had to hurry with the picture because people were looking at me like I’m bonkers. people know no manners these days.
dwight-schrute-shakes-head-and-rolls-eyes

It was an endless sea of colourful spines of lots of books unknown to me – which is totally awesome because the more new books to discover the merrier right? which is why I loved it! 😀

IMG_20170603_182124

They did have lots of books by authors I’m familiar with like Jonathan Stroud, Rick Riordan, Sarah J Maas etc and they were displayed prominently so I’m guessing they are quite popular. Nothing in this world makes me happier than people reading the Bartimaeus books ok? They have several different editions of those and all of them quite battered and well-loved. Not to be dramatic, but I was in metaphorical tears.

I think their strategic display might be working because I started taking out books to take home with me – I don’t even have a membership yet and I actually picked out books like ACOMAF. I should confess that after reading ACOTAR, I had absolutely no intention of reading any other book in the series. I still cannot explain why I picked it up.

IMG_20170603_182646

It’s nothing just several original hardcover Harry Potter books and Enid Blytons lying on the floor casually …

IMG_20170603_181741

(they had countless editions of Harry Potter – so many different covers! it was quite an edifying spectacle)

internalscream_zpsb8ad157e

Oh, and they had a whole room dedicated just for tamil books. Now, I haven’t read many tamil books so I wasn’t familiar with most of them but I did find gems like these. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in tamil! 😀 and another popular book by the famous tamil poet Mr. Vairamuthu. Like I said, I didn’t recognize many other books. Mea culpa.

They have 2 different set of membership plans which can be found here along with other T and Cs on their website. They even have free home delivery!

Consider me completely sold. I will definitely go back, may be visit the other branches too. Once my TBR is somewhat manageable, I’m planning to register as a member there. It will be fun! 😀

Let me finish this with something Neil Gaiman famously said once :

“Google can bring you back 100,000 answers, a librarian can bring you back the right one.” ― Neil Gaiman

tumblr_miqroioe0m1rzapx4o1_500

Happy Reading! 🙂

~ Mathangi.

1a765a1d8189585ce6e3c411fba93f35

 

2 thoughts on “Library Tour : Easwari Lending Library

Comment if convenient. If inconvenient, comment anyway. ;)

